Doctoral Consortium

The IEEE International Conference on Automatic Face and Gesture Recognition (FG 2023) Doctoral Consortium aims to provide a forum for doctoral students to discuss their research and career objectives with experienced researchers of international repute. One of the unique benefits of the consortium is the networking environment to establish new contacts and collaborations with other researchers. It will also serve to spread awareness amongst the students about career options in both academia and industry.

The FG 2023 Doctoral Consortium will be held during the conference, starting with an informal introduction by senior researchers followed by doctoral students. Following this, student participants will present their research and receive feedback from the invited committee. The students will also be paired with a mentor from the committee on the conference platform and can interact with their mentor during the conference directly on specific topics of interest.

Doctoral students working on research problems related to the FG community are invited to apply for the Doctoral Consortium. Successful applicants are expected to actively participate in the consortium and the conference. A best doctoral consortium application award will be given to the top applicant.

How to Apply

Each applicant must submit a single PDF file containing a two page CV, one page title and abstract of their thesis and one page recommendation letter from the PhD advisor/supervisor. Total pages of the submission must not exceed 4. To apply, CLICK HERE.

Review and Selection Process

All submissions will be peer-reviewed by the Doctoral Consortium members. Thesis topic should be related to the conference topics. Submissions will be evaluated on:

  1. Quality of the submission;
  2. Expected benefits for the student’s research;
  3. Student’s contribution to the diversity of topics, backgrounds, methodology, etc.


For further questions, contact the Doctoral Consortium Chairs

  1. Ajmal Mian, University of Western Australia, Australia
  2. Yasushi Makihara, Osaka University, Japan


Submission Deadline: October 15, 2022